That Single Life Though

IMG_9886When I found myself single again at 30, I put a big f*$%ing smile on my face and told everyone, including myself, that single life would be AMAZING.  Real talk though, deep down I thought for sure life was over. I feared the future.  Whenever I thought about it, I imagined myself, alone in my condo, binge watching Netflix, and eating Tollhouse cookie dough straight out of the tub. A year and a half later, my “fear” came true.  I literally was alone in my condo last night, binge watching Netflix, and eating cookie dough. Right now you might be thinking, “wow, that’s so sad”, or “I feel sorry for her”.  But don’t cry for me, wordpress reader.  My “fear” has become my dream come true.  Single life in your 30’s is incredible!

Remember how in your 20’s you were afraid to do shit that would challenge you?  In your 30’s you crave challenges.  Your goal everyday is to become a better person than you were yesterday.  You’re smarter, more motivated, and determined.  You know who you are, what you want, and where you’re headed.  You spend more time with family, ditch your shitty friends and gain incredible ones.

When it comes to dating and being single in your 30’s, the world is yours!  Dating apps make it so simple.  You can see losers from a mile away and you don’t waste one minute of your precious time on assholes.  You have better things to do, like yoga, or rock climbing, or soccer.

Wanna go get drunk with your friends on a Friday night?  Go for it!  You’re single.  You have no one to answer to and no little humans to take care of.  Feel like going on a trip? Treat yourself!  Get out of town!  You have the money to do it because the only person you are financially responsible for is you!

I’ve had a few people who’ve felt the need to “encourage” me by saying I’ll eventually meet someone.  “The right one will come along, don’t worry.”  I’m sorry, do I look f*#&ing worried?  That’s a rhetorical question.  No, bitch, no.  I’m not worried.  I’m single.  I love it.  And for any other single 30-something year olds out there, this is the best time of your life.  Take advantage and enjoy it.  Because one day, some great guy or girl will come along (eye roll) and the single life you love will be no more.  So, when you look back at your single life – are you going to smile and say you did it right?  I know I sure as hell will. 🙂

One more thing; to those of you who want to be reminded of what it’s like to be single, call me. Let’s see if you can still hang. 😉

*This post goes out to a dear friend of mine (TW).  Cheers to a girl who despite shitty circumstances, has chosen to happily embrace a new chapter in her life.  And can I just say, she’s kicking some major F&*%ing ass.

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. You are so much fun to read!!
    Such an uplifting energy.
    I hope it goes greater than ever in all your endeavors

    I would love ur feedback and opinion on my blog . Im a newbie working on becoming a pro-writer so I would love ur feedback❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’d be happy to read your posts! Writing is all from the heart!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

