When Life Gives You Lemons, Listen to Beyonce’s Album, Lemonade

I ain’t sorry that I came up with that clever title.  Life has and always will give you lemons.  So what do you do with them?  You can make lemonade, vodka soda with lemon, lemon meringue pie, or, if you’re like me, you just eat the whole thing like an apple (I know, it’s weird).

Real talk, shit happens.  How we deal with it will either help us or hurt us.  I’m lucky enough that in my lifetime, I haven’t yet dealt with any major losses.  But, that doesn’t mean I haven’t experienced pain, heartbreak, anger, and turmoil.  I didn’t always make lemonade out of the lemons I was given.  A lot of times I chose to wallow in my pain.  Now, in my 30’s, I’ve noticed a pattern.  It’s the same one every time.  Like clockwork; broken heart, party, turn to God, therapy, make new friends, new relationship, broken heart, party harder, turn back to God (again), therapy (again), find a new hobby.

It’s interesting.  How we deal with our current life situations, truly make us who we are in the future.  Because I’ve done this a few times, I can recommend a few things if you’re going through a rough time.

  1. Therapy.  It’s amazing.  If you’re a talker like I am, your friends and family are getting sick of you talking to them about the same damn thing.  So, if you can financially swing it or if you’re insurance covers it, go talk to a professional.  It works wonders.
  2. Be social.  I don’t mean get out there and get wasted.  Trust me.  I’ve done it and it sucks.  The hangover isn’t worth it and don’t even get me started on the awesome decisions one makes while drunk.  But don’t stay home.  Don’t become the cat lady or video game dude.  Be with friends who understand what you’re going through.
  3. God.  Everyone believes in something.  Whatever God is to you it’s worth it to say a prayer, offer up your good vibes, but know that you are not alone and God is listening and knows your pain.
  4. Hobby it up. Try something new.  Hiking, running, art, musical instrument, just start something!  I started rock climbing and doing yoga about a year ago and it’s truly changed my life.

There’s no right or wrong way to deal with issues.  Well, don’t do drugs, that’s definitely wrong.  What I’m saying is, you have to figure out what works for you.  If you go off the deep end, make sure you have friends that will pull you out.  Ask for help.  Don’t be afraid.  Take those lemons and make your own version of lemonade.  Or be like Beyoncé and make a music video running wild in the streets with a bat. Whatever floats your boat. 

Leave a Reply

