Rockclimbing: The Best Thing That’s Ever Happened To Me (Besides Being Born)

In the last year I’ve taken up the sport of rock climbing.  I owe this new endeavor all to my hot friend Whitney, who’s got a rockin (oh wow, look at that pun) body!  I seriously can’t get enough of it and I thought I’d share some fun facts with you all in hopes of recruiting people (I need 5 of you) so I can get a month free courtesy of Sender One.

It makes you happy! Rock climbing on a regular basis may help improve your mood or decrease bouts of depression. A review published in 2008 inAnnals of General Psychiatry found that a variety of different exercises, including rock climbing, help improve the moods of people suffering from depression. Going through a breakup? Put down the ice cream and call me. I get one free guest pass a month at Sender One.

You burn a ton of calories in a short amount of time! Pass me the wine and cheese! Harvard Health Publications reports that a 155-pound person burns about 818 calories hourly during a rock-climbing ascent and 596 calories per hour while rappelling.

Your body will look amazeballs! Because you’re working a number of different muscle groups when you rock climb, you increase your strength and muscle definition by climbing on the reg. A review published in 2011 in theJournal of Human Kinetics reports that elite rock climbers often have low body mass indexes, low body fat percentages, and increased handgrip strength.  Don’t under estimate the importance of great handgrip strength in life.  You never know when it will come in…handy.  God, I’m hilarious.

Other people’s bodies look amazeballs! Seriously, every single dude climbs with their shirt off and the ladies are all in spectacular shape.  Need I say more?

The most important fun fact of rock climbing is simply that it’s awesome.  If you’ve never tried it, you should!  I never thought I would be a rock climber, but here I am, climbing 10d’s and falling in love with Alex Honnold.

Leave a Reply

